Ground Zero of a Healthier Year

Today is the day! My husband and I are taking on some much needed healthier changes after letting ourselves go for over 8 months. We’ve been talking about it for ages, but finally sat down over the holiday weekend and made a plan.

Typical right? New year, resolutions and all that. Well this isn’t a resolution for us, its a goal. It’s an implementation of a lifestyle that we both know we need and we are taking the very first baby steps to get there.

img_2221

Yup, this is me on Jan. 1 2017. Still absolutely beautiful, but definitely time to get fit.

Let me me back up a second and give you an idea of where I’ve been and where I am. About a year ago I did a diet that cut out foods I was sensitive to, with amazing results! I lost 20lbs in less than 6 weeks. Then the holidays came, then there was free pizza all the time as my husband took on a delivery job part time…and then free pastries and coffees at work weekly….and then and then and then….sigh. Now I am in a complete opposite state of where I was and weigh more than I ever have in my life so far. That’s rough. And it took its toll emotionally and of course physically. But sometimes it takes hitting bottom, to really climb back up again. And I thank the Father and my super supportive husband for being encouraging, loving, and patient with me until I made the decision to change.

Since my husband is also in a position where he feels unhealthy, we both decided to make the change together. We are starting small.The next 30 days we have committed to working out every morning together and cutting out the big causes of our belly fat.

That of course includes all sources of high level sugar……..like chocolate, pastries, starbucks, sodas, you get the idea. Very hard for the sweet tooth we both have, especially me.

So what are we doing? Here’s the exercise routine we are following:

img_7344

And then there’s our food rules:

  • No sugary drinks
  • No soy
  • No high fructose corn syrup
  • No white sugar
  • And personally for me no dairy and a lower intake of wheat

So yeah, 30 days of this seems very achievable for starting at the bottom. And after the first day of exercises, it burned but I didn’t die, which was encouraging. Though I discovered just how much jumping jacks can burn if you do enough of them. And let me tell you, I have a desk job and I lounge a lot. So to go from couch to 50 jumping jacks first thing in the morning……boy did I feel it!!

Then there was the sugar cravings. Strong for sure but I managed to curb them with peppermint essential oil and a honey stick I had brought home from vacation. I will be pursuing other ways too because I expect it to get worse before it gets better.

All this to basically say, today we started our journey, and I am going to share the process along the way. Every step. The good and the bad. Because this is real life and I want you to know that at the end of the day, it’s simple, but not easy. It takes commitment.

Last things. Here are my stats of where I am starting. I share this to hopefully encourage you and for you to know where I came from as this journey continues.


Feel free to ask me any questions and thanks for reading!

Save

One thought on “Ground Zero of a Healthier Year

Leave a Reply

